Home Sports XFL reveals names, logos for its eight teams – ESPN

XFL reveals names, logos for its eight teams – ESPN

10 min read

The XFL revealed the names and logos for its eight teams Wednesday, a long-awaited step toward its February 2020 debut.

The names will be:

  • Dallas Renegades

  • Houston Roughnecks

  • Los Angeles Wildcats

  • New York Guardians

  • St. Louis BattleHawks

  • Seattle Dragons

  • Tampa Bay Vipers

  • Washington Defenders

The XFL has spent the past two years determining team locations, signing stadium agreements and hiring head coaches. Its teams will play in a combination of NFL, MLB and MLS facilities. The league office has sent hundreds of draft pool invitations to prospective players and last month announced its first signing: veteran quarterback Landry Jones.

Next up will be finalizing and publicizing a rulebook that the league says will offer a reimagined game of football, including unique extra points, a modified setup for overtime and a shorter play clock to accelerate game tempo.

A draft is scheduled for October, followed by a minicamp in December and training camp in January 2020.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Source link


Check Also

Hong Kong Police Trap Protesters in University Standoff: ‘Please Let My Daughter Go’ – The Wall Street Journal

Loading...   Protesters throw paper to fuel a fire at the main entrance to Hong Kong …